Authors are Rockstars Stop: Sarah J Maas on Eleven books of Fans of Throne of Glass & GIVEAWAYY!

Authors-Are-Rockstars-Tour

Hi Guys!

I am so absolutely ecstatic to be hosting a spot on the 'Authors Are Rockstars' Blog Tour
I'm also EXTREMELY excited because I am hosting none other than...

Sarah J. Maas!

Yes, THAT Sarah J. Maas, the one that everybody is talking about because of her amazing debut novel Throne of Glass. I reviewed Throne of Glass here and rated A+.

So why do I think that Sarah J. Maas is a ROCKSTAR?

Oh wow, ask me that question?! So many reasons! I admire this woman! Her book Throne of Glass is a high fantasy about a kick-ass female assassin who has to deal with boys wanting her, boys wanting to KILL her and a supernatural monster that ALSO wants to kill her. Hmm... yeah... a lot of boys and a lot of killing. Not only is the book absolutely amazing, the main character is amazing (Celaena is so TOUGH!) and there's a kind-of love triangle that I actually like. The book itself is awesome.

Furthermore, this book (well the first rough draft of it) was written when Sarah was sixteen. That blows me away because when I was sixteen I didn't even have the attention span of a goldfish and it amazes me that Sarah has put ten years into getting this book published.

So THAT is why I think Sarah J. Maas is a rockstar!






Sarah J. Maas with her Top Ten (errr, Eleven) Books for People That Enjoyed Throne of Glass:


Compiling this list of ten books for fans of THRONE OF GLASS was actually impossibly hard. Hard, because comparing my book to any of these feels like the worst kind of hubris. These are all books that I adore, and even putting TOG in the same category as them feels tremendously arrogant. But, without further ado, if you enjoyed THRONE OF GLASS, then you might like:


1. SABRIEL and LIRAEL by Garth Nix. These were two of THE books that got me into fantasy, writing, and YA. I adored the heroines in both books—but I especially adored the world-building. It was a major influence on the world of ToG—especially the Dead (and all the ancient/creepy books!).

2. THE HERO AND THE CROWN by Robin McKinley. Oh, this book. If you like heroines that can save the day, or heroines that are clever and resourceful and survivors, then read this book. Also: dragons. <3 font="font">

3. FINNIKIN OF THE ROCK by Melina Marchetta. Melina Marchetta’s LUMATERE CHRONICLES make me proud to be a YA fantasy author. Her world building (the politics, the horrors of war) is top-notch, but it’s her characters and their humanity that stole my heart. I recently met Melina and BURST into tears when I spoke to her, because her books have meant THAT much to me and my own work.

4. CROWN DUEL by Sherwood Smith. If you enjoy fierce heroines, awesome fights, and slow-building (yet totally worth it) romance, then read this. It’s delightful and epic and everything YA fantasy should be.
5. SHADOW & BONE by Leigh Bardugo. Leigh’s world building is incredible and original—and it’s no wonder that this book is now a bestseller. I had major writer-envy the first time I read this book—and I can’t wait to see what Leigh has in store for us with Book 2!

6. THE THIEF by Megan Whalen Turner. Agh. I don’t even know how to sum up why you should read this book, because this book (and the whole series) is so ridiculously good that I’m still in awe over it. If they ever met, I think Eugenides and Celaena would be BFFers (…or bitter rivals).

7. THE BLACK JEWELS TRILOGY by Anne Bishop. This is an adult fantasy series, but…if you like hot guys, dark fantasy worlds, and brutal stakes, then read this. My favorite male protagonist of all time is in it (Lucivar Yaslana), and in the 12 years since I first read this series (…I read it a longggg time ago), it still remains one of my favorites. The world and the characters will forever have a place in my heart.

8. MISTWOOD by Leah Cypess. Gorgeous, intricate, and haunting YA fantasy with a strong, mysterious heroine. And a romance that will make you sigh and sniffle (…I totally cried). Loved it.

9. SILVER PHOENIX by Cindy Pon. I’d like to see Ai Ling and Celaena go head-to-head in an eating contest, because I honestly don’t know who’d win. I love heroines who adore eating (to a fault, even), and was so delighted when I read SILVER PHOENIX. Plus, setting a fantasy in ancient China was just a breath of fresh air. Inventive, touching, and totally awesome.

10. ALANNA: THE FIRST ADVENTURE by Tamora Pierce. I bet many of you have already read this amazing series, but... This series has it all. Badassery, a fabulous heroine, yummy guys, and epic stakes. It honestly feels ridiculous to say: “If you enjoyed TOG, then you’ll enjoy THE SONG OF THE LIONESS,” because these books are SO good and SUCH a staple of YA literature, but…yeah.

11. THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS by Rae Carson. Okay, I actually had to add ONE more to this list because this book is one that should NOT be missed. It’s heroine is unique and unforgettable, the world is different and fascinating, and it is heartbreaking and brave and just wonderful.




Honorable Mentions: GRACELING by Kristin Cashore (I haven’t read this one yet… For shame, I know!) and POISON STUDY by Maria V. Snyder (another one I haven’t read yet, but I’ve heard RAVE reviews!)!


Jade: I haven't read all of these... in fact I haven't read MANY of them I seriously need to check out Sabriel, Finnikin of the Rovk, Crown Duel, The Black Jewels Trilogy... I need to get my fantasy butt into gear.

I do however totally agree with the ones that I have read, especially Fire and Thorns which i read last year and loved!

I can't believe Sarah hasn't read Graceling and Poison Study, since Celaena could TOTALLY be the impossible lovechild of Katsa and Yelena, or Katsa and Valek for that matter! 

Thanks so much for compiling this list Sarah!


GIVEAWAY


I am giving away ONE copy of the UK Paperback of Throne of Glass (cover shown).

This giveaway is international as long as The Book Depository ships to you and ends a week from today (6th September).

You can also enter my blogoversary giveaway (ends TONIGHT) to win a copy of this book - Link here

7 comments:

  1. I totally agree with your reasons why Sarah J. Maas is a rockstar author! I mean to have come up with the idea of something with this epicness at 16 is amaziing. Celaena is awesome! And I do love that sort-of love triangle.

    I have only read one of those top 10...11 (well, 12 if you count the two from Garth Nix) books and that is book 11. But I own a few more that I really must read like Shadow and Bone, Mistwood and Silver Phoenix. And I totally am curious about both books by Garth Nix.

    I have always loved high/epic fantasy and ToG was so amazing. Can't wait to check a few more of these out.

    Thank you so much for being on this tour! You rock! You made this stop with Sarah J. Maas awesome! And the fact that your rockstar author was not able to keep to a top ten makes me love her even more!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I loved Sarah's list of books! I tried to get her to add the Study series by Maria V. Snyder but she hasn't read it yet. Will remedy that lol.
    Your post is great and I agree with all your reasons Sarah is a rockstar! Throne of Glass was amazeballs :)

    Thanks so much for being a tour host!

    Jaime @ Two Chicks On Books

    ReplyDelete
  3. I meant add it to the actual list lol

    -Jaime

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've ready four of the books on her Top Eleven (plus Graceling and Poison Study), and I really want to read all the other ones too. Having Sarah J Maas recommend them only makes me want to read them more.

    Also, I completely agree with Sarah J Maas being a rockstar. Her dedication (ten years!) is inspiring.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm dying to read Throne of Glass! I've also been wanting to read Shadow and Bone, Graceling, Poison Study, Girl of Fire and Thorns, and Finnikin of the Rock. I've heard great things about them but actually don't read much fantasy. Will definitely try to get to those!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for stopping by at my blog!
    And what a fantastic giveaway! Thank you for the chance to win it :D

    Mariska

    ReplyDelete

Tell me your thoughts on the post, the book, the world. I like volcanoes, feel free to tell me about volcanoes.